I have learned in life that you can’t take things too seriously.  Please do not get me wrong, this does not mean that I recommend anyone go for a carefree approach to life. However I do believe that there are aspects that people need to calm down. For instance, while driving (I am not the most calm person while driving) if I do not leave the line right when the light turns green… don’t honk at me. It’s not that big of a deal.

Anyway, there is a big picture to this.  This morning God called Bill Adams home.  This may not mean anything to you, but it means a lot to my dad’s side of the family.  This was a gentleman, father, grandfather, uncle, husband and a genuine man.  In his last days, he spent time with his three children and wife as comfortable as possible. He did not pass in pain or stress, but in peace. There is a lesson to learn in this. My dad was giving me the update this morning on his last days and he told me this. While being taken off of life support and feeding tubes to be moved to hospice Bill was talking to his wife and said “I just want to thank you for 50 years of wonderful marriage” to which his wife, Ann, responded “it’s been 56.” His response to that statement was “it’s been that long?” This brought out a laugh through the room and those listening.

So why does this matter?  How is this inspiring and showing not to take life too seriously? Well, let me tell you. In a time of sadness, grief and preparation for the end, there was still joy throughout the room.  This goes to show you that whenever you have grief or sadness there are still opportunities to find joy.  If you take life too seriously you will miss these wonderful moments. If you focus strictly on the end result, you will miss moments that could add a little light when the world seems so dark.

I will leave you with that.

until next time.

