drag me out into the streets
let the world see what you’ve done to me
ripping the very inner being out
so that I’d always remember who knew me best

the dogs are on your scent
tracking you down from the scene of the crime
the detectives are finding the clues
that you left all over me so you’d be remembered

taking the simple path to the sea
so that the trail will be less easy
take your best shot at a clean getaway
you want to be found out
there is a simple victory in your crime
tearing me apart from the inside
leaving a trail from the scene
like bread crumbs home

the dogs are on your scent
tracking you down from the scene of the crime
the detectives are finding the clues
that you left all over me so you’d be remembered
hoping to be famous
that’s all that you’d make of this
leaving your mark on a piece of paper
that will never make it’s way into the classrooms
creating your seat in history nothing more than a dream

but maybe I am to blame
maybe I was the one who was always wrong
leaving the trails to the places you feared the most
this is what it was meant to be
a crime scene that is so much more
an artistic expression
a hollowed dream for remembrance
we’ve all been seeking the fame
we’re all to blame

the dogs caught your scent
they tracked you down to your home
the detectives found all of the clues
the ones you left all over me
you won’t be famous
there won’t even be a write up in the paper
you won’t even get your name in lights
missing your mark by an inch or a mile
it matters not as the dream has died

